Treaty Trader Visa Attorneys in Chicago

E-1 Visa Treaty Traders

The Treaty Trader (E-1) Visa is the result of an agreements between America and certain other nations regarding commerce that provide nationals of those countries may enter and work in America if they meet certain conditions.

Applicants under this category must be the same nationality as the company for which they work, and the company must be undertaking a level of trade with America sufficient to support the employee in America.

To be eligible for this visa:

  • The applicant must be a national of a country which has a commercial treaty or agreement with America;
  • The applicant must intend to conduct trade in America of a substantial nature (i.e. an amount of trade sufficient enough to ensure a continuous flow of international trade items between America and the treaty country);
ArgentinaCzech RepublicJamaicaNorwaySweden
BangladeshEthiopiaKyrgyzstanParaguayTrinidad and Tobago
China (Taiwan)GrenadaMexicoSenegalUnited Kingdom
ColumbiaHondurasMoldaviaSlovak RepublicYugoslavia
Congo (Republic Of)IranMongoliaSpain
Congo (Democratic Republic Of)IrelandMoroccoSri Lanka
Costa RicaItalyNetherlandsSuriname


  • The trade must be conducted principally between America and the treaty country of which the applicant is a national;
  • If the applicant is not the principal trader, he or she must be employed in a managerial or executive capacity or have specialized knowledge which makes their presence essential for the operation of the trade; and
  • The applicant must intend to leave America when the visa expires.

E Visa Eligibility and Requirements

The E-1 Treaty Trader must, whether an Individual or Business or Individual Employed by that Individual or Business, Possess the Nationality of a Country with which the United States Maintains a Treaty of Commerce and Navigation.

As of January 2003, eligible Treaty Trader countries are:

Even if the treaty exists with the United States, a foreign trader who seeks E-1 visa status must meet all of the following requirements: (1) the trade must constitute an exchange; (2) the trade must be international in scope; and (3) the trade must involve qualifying activities.

Authorization Period, Extensions, and Restrictions

Both E-1 and E-2 visa holders are initially granted a period of admission for two (2) years with an unlimited number of two-year extensions of status.